Zeynep Yıldırım

Keywords: Turkmen Literature, Iran, Iranian Turkmens, periods ofIranian Turkmen literature, poet


After the division of the Turkmen lands and the people between the two countries with the border agreement signed by Tsarist Russia and Iran in 1881, the Turkmens who remained in the Iranian lands went through a process that differed from the Turkmens in Turkmenistan in the development of oral and written literature. Although Turkmen Turkish does not have the status of an official language in Iran, it has preserved its existence as a working language that produces works with Arabic letters under the leadership of the intellectuals there. Today, we can talk about a strong Iranian Turkmen literature, especially in the field of poetry, starting from the Qajar period. The periods of Iranian Turkmen literature include the Qajar period (1881-1925), the Pahlavi period (1925-1979), the Islamic Republic of Iran period (the period from 1979 to the present), and the Islamic Republic of Iran period can be divided within itself to the period of the Turkmensahra national movement (1979-1980), the Iran-Iraq War and the post-war reconstruction period (1980-1995) and the period from 1997 to the present. In the Qajar period, prominent poets such as Dövletmämmet Balgızıl, Misgingılıç; during the Pahlavi period, Meret Törrük, Muhammet Tumaç, Muhammet İşan, Berdi Köse, Sähet İşan, Arazmuhammet Şairi (Aram), Arazdurdı Tevekküli, Tagangılıç Hacayi, Habibullah Subhani; during the Turkmensahra national movement, Arazmuhammet Arazniyazi, Annamuhammet Sade, Gurbangeldi Ahunber; during the Iran-Iraq War and the post-war reconstruction period, Settar Sokı; in the period from 1997 to the present, Abdulkahhar Sufirad, Hacımırat Ak, Baymuhammet Gılıçi, Recep Mahtum led their contemporaries to develop Iranian Turkmen literature.